Towns and Municipalities

The Istrian Region consists of units of local self-government - 10 towns and 31 municipalities.

Towns: Buje-Buie, Buzet, Labin, Novigrad-Cittanova, Pazin, Poreč-Parenzo, Pula-Pola, Rovinj-Rovigno, Umag-Umago, and Vodnjan-Dignano.

Municipalities: Bale-Valle, Barban, Brtonigla-Verteneglio, Cerovlje, Fažana-Fasana, Funtana, Gračišće, Grožnjan-Grisignana, Kanfanar, Karojba, Kaštelir-Labinci- Castellier-Santa Domenica, Kršan, Lanišće, Ližnjan-Lisignano, Lupoglav, Marčana, Medulin, Motovun-Montona, Oprtalj-Portole, Pićan, Raša, Sveti Lovreč, Sveta Nedelja, Sveti Petar u Šumi, Svetvinčenat, Tar-Vabriga, Tinjan, Višnjan-Visignano, Vižinada-Visinada, Vrsar-Orsera and Žminj.

The domain, the structure, the functioning of the bodies of the units of local and regional self-government, the supervision of their acts and work and other significant issues regarding their work are regulated by the Law on Local and Regional Self-Government ("Narodne Novine" no. 33/01, 60/01, and 106/03).

Regions, towns, and municipalities in the Republic of Croatia, their names, area, and centres, as well as other significant questions for the territorial organization of units of local and regional self-government are regulated by the Law on the Areas of Regions, Towns, and Municipalities in the Republic of Croatia ("Narodne Novine" no. 10/97, 124/97, 50/98, 68/98, 22/99, 42/99, 117/99, 128/99, 44/00, 129/00, 92/01, 79/02, 83/02, 25/03, and 107/03).

Units of local self-government (municipality, town) in the self-governing domain, they perform works with local significance which directly realize the citizens' needs, and which are not in the domain of bodies of state administration, and especially works related to:

  • Planning the residential areas
  • Physical and town planning
  • Communal activities
  • Child care
  • Social care
  • Primary health protection
  • Education and elementary schooling
  • Culture, physical education, and sport
  • Customers' protection
  • Protection and improvement of natural environment
  • Fire and civilian protection